GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Lilian's Profile
Lilian's family
Lilian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought a door 6800 KES, a cow 14000 KES, two sheep 6000 KES, iron sheets 6400 KES, maize 24000 KES and spent the rest on school fees, clothes and food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of educating my child who will be joining high school next year.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have bought most things I have been lacking. I am now happy and peaceful after paying school fees for my child.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building a house for my children.I also bought a cow and 2 sheep and a mattress.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children have a house to sleep in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent KES 5,000 of my token payment on repairing my motorbike.I also bought maize for my family and paid school fees for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on starting a fish business.I also want to pay school fees for my children and expanding my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a bigger house and also use it to buy improved maize seeds for agriculture. I also plan to use it to pay school fees for my kids.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that make me proud is that I have managed to raise my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is getting a steady source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I sit with my kids and we share as a family.