<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Doris's Profile
Doris's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Doris's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the money to plaster my house so l bought 25 bags of cement at 18750 kshs l also spend 25000 kshs to pay labor the remaining balance l use to buy foodstuff.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was in a dusty house but now l am very happy l am in comfortable house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to buy a lory of sand which I'll use to cement my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement my house both walls and floor because currently it's earth and expensive to repair more often . I'm also planning to invest the remaining amount in retail shop business.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to plaster my house because maintaining the house is very expensive. Finally l would wish to open up a business to generate income to support my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l struggled to buy a cow which can help me in future.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when having lunch with my family.