GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Catherine's Profile
Catherine's family
Catherine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
59
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($481 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I did spend my third transfer to purchase a cow at 19,000 KES and three sheep at 15,000 KES then I did spend the balance to construct a kitchen outside the house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on plastering my floor.I also bought chairs and building materials(16 iron sheets,timber and nails).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have chairs im my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000 KES school fee for my grandson, used 2,000 KES to weed my crops, bought a chicken at 500 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to build an iron roofed kitchen then cement the floor of the main house and then buy sofasets for the house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to plaster my house,build a kitchen and buy some livestock.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I do farming and am able to take of my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is lack of finance to improve my family living standards.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am farming and am able to provide for my family.