chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nyaure's Profile
Nyaure's family
Nyaure
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
71
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Nyaure's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to expand my house (35000), treatment of my spouse (10000), and food (4500).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now live in a big house with electricity lighting. I also got money to treat my spouse.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 5,000 KES to do electricity wiring in my house. I bought a sack of maize at 2,500 KES for family consumption . I also bought seeds for plantation with a portion of the remaining transfer while the rest I paid tithe at the church.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to replace my current roof with new iron sheets because the current ones are too old. I'm also planning to build a new kitchen where I can prepare family dishes.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to carry out wiring in my house, I recently connected electricity to my house but I am still unable to use the power as I have no wiring system. I will also use part of the transfers to buy iron roofing sheets which I will use to replace the ones covering my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is is having saved money that I got from farming and was able to educate my son up to secondary school level, he later managed to get a government job. Sadly, he died later on.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is ill health. I am an elderly person and this means that I have to constantly rely on my children to assist me with health bills, this often puts a strain on their finances.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when if I wake up when I am not feeling ill.