chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Juliana's Profile
Juliana's family
Juliana
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
53
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Juliana's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 13500 KES of the first lumpsum on buying furniture, used 25000 KES to furnish my house, added 5000 KES to my business and used the rest of the money on buying maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because my business is doing well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to pay debt of 5000 kshs, l also spent the transfer to buy 1 sack of maize at 2000 kshs, l also bought uniform for my child at 1000 kshs the remaining balance l spent to improve my business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to plaster my house and to improve my business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to start a business. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy household items like furniture. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy oxen plough and bulls which I will use during ploughing.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to construct iron roofed house for my family. I used to stay in a leaking grass thatched house in the past.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have adequate source of income to pay school fees for my children
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am having dinner with my children.