GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Caleb's Profile
Caleb's family
Casual labour
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($472 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent most of the transfer to buy furniture since l did not have any thing to sit on l was only siting on water container. I also spent the transfer to buy dairy cow for my future use where l will not spend any money to buy milk from my neighbors. The remaining balance l spent to buy mattress for me to have a place where l can sleep comfortably.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on building my house at cost of 35000 KES and use 15000 KES to buy a cow.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that i manage to built an iron sheet roofed house,thank to GD.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought mattress for 3800 KES, two goats for 3550 KES, blanket 800 KES, gave my mother 1000 KES and spent some to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy iron sheets and build a house with the upcoming lumpsum transfer payment.
access_time almost 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to start a poultry business I plan to build a bigger semi permanent house I plan to buy a few livestock to rear at home
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is when I helped my mother to pay for my siblings school fee in primary school
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is when my father died and I had to quit school in order to help my mother take care of the family financially by doing odd jobs
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am done with my casual labours job and am now resting