GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Dorothy's Profile
Dorothy's family
Dorothy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third cash transfer to pay school fee worth 12000KES,paid workers 10000KES,sand 5000KES,murram 5000KES,a sack of maize 3000KES,invested 12000KES in my business,food 1200KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes,my new goal is to plaster my house and build my son a house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfer since I managed to pay the school fee balance which was remaining for the term and renovated my house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on expanding my house.I also paid school fees for my children in secondary school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children have stayed in school for the whole year without being sent home for fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on secondary school fees for my two children (9000) and bought food (800)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to clear school fees balance and expand my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house because it's small, pay school fee for my two children in secondary schools. I also plan to build for my eldest son a house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to educate my children by doing horticultural farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that farming is seasonal and when there is drought we run at a loss so I don't really have a reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am at my farming working because it's where I get my income.