GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Geofrey's Profile
Geofrey's family
Geofrey
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - non-food (self-employed)
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was before Give Directly can into my life in that, I am now self-dependent. Something that I never knew would ever happen because I didn't study up to a higher level so there were no hopes of being financially stable. At least not to the level I am in now after Give Directly boosted me financially. I got out of my parent's place. I thank them a lot because they used to take care of most of my needs. I have also known how to handle money and prioritize my plans through the transfers I received from this organization.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start a printing business. There is no one who is doing that business in the neighborhood and I feel it is an opportunity that I should grasp. I am planning to save my transfer and buy the printing machine and other equipment that will be needed for this project. I thank Give Directly because they have empowered me and if all goes well, I will not have to look for jobs since I will be stable and independent.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer on putting up a chicken coop. I had a poultry structure but it was not in good condition because the structure was small and congested which was not good for the birds' health and growth. I used the remaining amount to build an eskew back at home since I did not have one. I finally used the remaining amount of money to add more equipment and food for my poultry project. I am determined to make sure that my birds are ok because I have a ready market in December and I would not want to lose them before then.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that I am now hopeful for a better future than I was initially. I now believe that things can truly change for the better and I have also developed a different approach to life; I am now positive with life. I also find that I have more respect from my family, as I am now able to support them financially without much struggle.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to open up a t-shirt printing business as it is a marketable business even here in Mathare. I will supplement my income with my coming transfers from Give Directly in order to achieve this dream.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to pay for a course in Retail and Restaurant Management at an institution known as Mathare Old, in Kosovo Village. This course is offered by a Non-governmental Organization known as Generation. The organization mentors and supports youth at informal settlement areas and also connects youth to employers for interviews, once an individual completes training with them. I completed my short course and the organization organized for me an interview at the popular fast-food franchise, KFC(Kentucky Fried Chicken), at one of their branches at the Central Business District of Nairobi county. I now work there part-time as a waiter and I also assist with other roles in the kitchen. I studied this course to supplement my other income that I receive from poultry farming, so I can raise enough cash to begin a t-shirt printing business. Give Directly has truly changed my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($196 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal right now is to plaster my house back at home to make it more durable because it is currently made of mud and easily gets ruined especially when it rains. This requires constant repairs which I am not able to keep up with due to financial constraints and I rarely go home to check on its condition.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I was previously living in a dusty house with no bed which constantly caused me health problems. But now that I have managed to plaster the house and purchase a bed, my health has greatly improved as I have not experienced any case of flu lately which was previously very frequent.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used part of my money to plaster the house which I am currently living in and also bought a bed. Previously, I was living in a very pathetic condition, my house was very dusty because it had not been plastered, and I constantly had health problems such as flu which was caused by dusty beddings. I sent my mother some of the money for her personal needs, bought a few household items such as shoe-rack and foodstuff then saved the remaining amount for future use.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I cannot explain the happiness I felt when I saw the M-pesa message. All I wanted to do at that moment was to share the news with my group members, but it was way too early to wake them up, so I had to be patient till morning. I could not get any sleep for the rest of the night because I was busy imagining how I would spend the money.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will spend my transfers to go back to school to study 'Mobile Phones Applications and Games Development'. It is a short course that will be a good investment for me as the 'Mobile phones applications development' market is not flooded yet. I also have interest in developing mobile applications. Secondly I will invest in a new T-shirt printing business. This I will also collaborate with some members of my group, Edart. Finally, I will spend my transfers to assist my mother with her daily needs back in my rural home.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is failing to achieve my ambition because I have a lot of dreams and hopes for the future. If I do not achieve my ambitions, I will feel like I have failed myself and failed in life. My second concern is debts. I fear a situation where I would fail to pay any debts i have, and I end up losing my property or life in the midst of a confrontation to pay up the debt. Thirdly, I am concerned about disability, as this would render me almost unable to go about my business and live my life comfortably or achieve my dreams.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to own a large printing company. This will be in fabric printing, printing caps and printing phone covers or cases.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I usually wake up at 7:00am to prepare my 10 year old brother for school and to see him off to school. I rear and sell ducks for a living, apart from being a contracted construction worker. I then release the ducks that I had locked up overnight to clean their housing and check for anything that might need my attention. From there I wait around for any customers who would be interested in the ducks or their eggs. In my free time, I enjoy to take pictures and to improve my photography skills at 'Dream Boy', a local NGO in my neighborhood that offers various training in the arts field like photography. I also enjoy reading journals online, together with online writing.