GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Joyce's Profile
Joyce's family
Joyce
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Retail (self-employed)
faceAge:
35
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from the way it would have been had I not received the transfer in that I'm able to meet my daily needs with a lot of ease. My retail business was my only source of income and due to many life's demands, it was almost collapsing. I had to look for other ways of raising money. When I used my transfer to boost my business, I find it easy to handle my needs because my business is doing well and the profits, even though not much, helps me meet my needs in time.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have an additional goal of saving money so that come next year I'll buy a house. This will save me the cost of paying for monthly house rent and use the rent money on other family needs. I know through this, I will develop my life financially and sort my family needs without many struggles.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Previously, my retail shop which is my only source of income didn't have a variety of products to sell and this earned me minimal income. I, therefore, used the whole of the third transfer to boost my retail shop business by adding stock to the shop. I'm glad I earn good profit from it and I can monitor its growth on a daily basis. This makes me happy because the fear of it collapsing is no more.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that, my business has drastically improved and I have not had any challenges of recording low revenue or profit of late.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to buy a piece of land and build a house for my family, where I wont have to pay rent again. I hope to build this house here in Kosovo village, Mathare, or even the neighboring areas like Huruma Estate or Kariobangi South Estate
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to expand my business and to repay a debt of 15000 KES that I had borrowed from my youth group. I own a retail shop in Kosovo village, Mathare for 2 years now. I sell commodities such as sugar, cooking flour, salt, tea leaves; among other items. I added more stock to this business to increase my sales, and I have since seen my business improve drastically. My business is doing well now and I have not seen any challenges for some time now. I spent the remaining 15000 KES to clear a debt that I had borrowed from my youth group, Precious Ladies. I borrowed this loan in the beginning of the year to pay school fees for my child who is in High school. My husband is a casual laborer mainly involved with construction jobs and we find that most times we have to depend on my shop to pay bills, as what he earns is never enough to sustain us consistently. I am grateful that I was able to invest in my business which has been doing well of late.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($196 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Since I did not go to school, I do prefer doing business hence I want to start a boutique business which I believe has good profits to help me in making my family life better and taking my children to good schools than where they are studying now.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I am a widow who fully depends on a retail shop business for survival. Currently, the business has been going down as a result of the many family demands which are higher than the income generated from the business itself. When I received this transfer, therefore, I was able to add more stock to my business in order to maximize profits and minimize costs. Through this, I am optimistic that I will comfortably sustain my family and become economically stable.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent 8000KES of my transfer on adding more stock to my retail shop business so that I can be able to sustain my life from the profits I get. The remaining 12000KES I used on repaying a loan, I used in paying school fees for my son, who had been sent home for the same and was to miss his end of year examinations.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was very happy because the time to repay the loan was due yet I did not have money for the same. I was going to give part of my stock to cater for the loan if I did not get the money from GD.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I prioritize like that because it's what have been doing for sometime but since it collapsed I have had a hard time so I will reboost it so that it can now be stable and have enough stock and get income from it. I believe with stock I will have good profit. Secondly, I will clear all school fees balance for my children that I have and even clear the remaining years so that they can finish school smoothly and lastly, I may go back to school myself to finish my tailoring course that I started so that I can have enough knowledge to open my own place.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is my family because as a parent I want the best for my children and am not so sure if I will give them the best education and life they need. Secondly the fact that I don't have employment is also a concern because I also have a disabled child who needs special attention that am not able to provide as a mother and lastly getting daily subsistence is a problem sometimes especially since my business backfired a while ago so it is always hard to provide to my family sometimes.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to become a successful business lady with several business from food and none food stuff at a wholesale price and also have a stable income.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In the morning once am awake I first do household chores then prepare tea and take tea. When am done I go to the market to buy stock for my shop and once am back I just stay at my shop waiting for customers. At lunch time I go cook since I have a disabled child then come back to the shop up-to 9:30pm at night then once I have closed my shop I go home cook eat and then sleep.