GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Nankwanga's Profile
Nankwanga's family
Nankwanga
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
Eastern Uganda
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
1685137 UGX ($444 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have no stress these days, am always happy because i have achieved a lot.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
It has helped us that we now have hope of becoming land lords, we have been tenants for so long.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I had initially bought a piece of land, but i had not yet cleared there was an outstanding balance of 200,000. Am planning to buy bulls and an oxen to help us in cultivation, we also wish to lay bricks for construction.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1754517 UGX ($476 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The difference is that now I have hope of building a house than before.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I had alot of joy because I did not have such an opportunity.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my money to buy a plot of land, iron sheets and also planning to lay bricks and build a house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that, am going to buy land , construct a house and start a business to improve on our standard of living in our home.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is evening when we are eating together as a family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is failure to pay rent on time due to inadequate funds.