<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nelly's Profile
Nelly's family
Nelly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
22
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Nelly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the cash to buy cow worth 20000 kshs, l also paid fees of 18000 kshs to my daughter in secondary school, the remaining 12000 kshs l spend to buy wall-unit..
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l have bought a cow that l will be milking daily and for that l will get my daily income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 6,000 KES to plough my farm. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to use a portion of the transfer to pay school fee to my son in high school. I'm also planning to invest the remaining amount in retail shop business.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to use part of this money to start business and the rest to use as school fees for an orphan child under my care.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement i'm proudest of is that i own some some household property.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of food and personal upkeeps.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day I'd when i'm able to get some peace-work that can enable me get some food for my children.