<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Wilfrida's Profile
Wilfrida's family
Wilfrida
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
58
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Wilfrida's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to pay secondary school fees (16000), bought a steel door (8000), an ox (14000), 2 bags of maize (6000) and food (5000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I thank God for GD because through the support i have paid school fees and i can now farm with ease.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 5,000 KES to pay fee to my son in secondary school. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both floor and walls of my house because they are earth at the moment. I'm also planning to fix a metallic door with the remaining portion.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend the transfer on starting a business and paying of school fees to our children ,one is in form three and other two in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement we are proudest of is having seen our two children through high school even though it was through hardship.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship currently in our life is on paying school fees to our children and finding daily food for the family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when I join the rest of other women at our local market selling fish to get some small income.