GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Lizzy's Profile
Lizzy's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Lizzy's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 22000 KES of the first lumpsum in paying school fee for my two children in school, bought a chair at 21000 KES and used the rest of the money in opening a business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I'm happy I managed to clear school fee so I didn't have to sell any of my cows to raise their school fee as I used to do previously.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3,000KES on buying 2 water tanks, 400KES on buying utensils and bought a blanket @ 500KES. I also spent 2,000KES on food. I also bought a thermos flask @ 2,800KES and spent 800KES on buying washing plastic basins.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
My two children have been sent away from school because of school fees arrears, I therefore plan to pay so that they can continue with their studies.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my children, start a small business and repair my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having been able to get bountiful harvests from my farm each year.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income, this has led to some of my children being sent away from school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I wake up in the morning and do household chores, this is because I like a clean environment.