GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Emilly's Profile
Emilly's family
Emilly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emilly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES of my first transfer on buying 2 cows.I also bought 20 iron sheets,2 bags of cement.a tin of paint and paid school fees for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a cow which I use for ploughing.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid primary school fees for my daughter using 600 KES of my token payment then I spent 4000 KES on a mattress, 3000 KES on a bed, 1800 KES on a sack of maize and saved the remaining 600 KES with our women welfare.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will spend my upcoming lumpsum payment as follows; I will spend 20000 KES on 2 cows then build a new house using 20000 KES and pay school fees for my children with the remaining 10000 KES.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a house for my son, renovate my house, build a toilet and to invest in business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of raising my children after their father died, fifteen years down the line. Although none of them have made it to high school, I feel proud that I can provide for their food, clothing and shelter.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is maintaining my life as it is, since my income source is very unstable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I get paid after casual job.