chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Patrick's Profile
Patrick's family
Patrick
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($528 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I am hopeful of getting a job as soon as I get my driving license. I am so happy to have made this step because it will give me a source of income. I will now have a license that will place me at a better chance to get a job. I have always had the option of truck driving but not having the license was a huge hindrance. |With the connections, I have in the sector, I am sure of getting a job as soon as I am done here. This will be the turning point in my life to succeed.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDireclty did well in delivering aid to the village and right to individuals. It has enabled me to achieve my dreams. This was better as opposed to the community development that are normally implemented by other NGOs. I wouldn't have experienced this change were it not for this approach.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the money I received from Give Directly on building a house. I needed to move my homestead from my brother's piece of land where I was previously living on. After my father allocated us the land, my portion of land subsided due to the heavy floods that occurred a few months ago. This forced me to have to go and build a new house. The most exciting expenditure is on the driving course that I am currently undertaking. I had been planning for a long time to acquire a driving license so that I can start a job as a truck driver.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($536 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the establishment of livestock farming. buying a cow was top in priorities since we had suffered a rough patch ox expenses due to our daily payment to obtain milk from my neighbor.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
At the moment of receiving the money, I really became very happy, thanked God for the miracle which had come to our household. This to me was a great step towards realizing our dream of owning a cow in our household.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
On receiving the first transfer from GiveDirectly, I decided to use the first patch of it on settling all the debts I had. I saw it a good idea to clear them all so that I plan well on the remaining amount. The second part of it went to purchase of a heifer since we never had any livestock in our fields, also bought a barbed wire to fence the compound and subdivide the grazing are, farm inputs were also in the list of purchases and used the remaining on tilling and planting my piece of land.
 
Enrolled
access_time 10 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have a little experience in poultry farming but I have not had enough capital to rear more chicken.With Give Directly sending me transfers next month I will immediately embark on poultry farming.I will begin by fencing the compound using meshwire.This will cost me Ksh 20,000(200 USD).I will then put up poultry structures and finally buy layers chicken with the remaining part of the first transfer.My target is getting 50 eggs for sale per day when things start running smoothly.With the second transfer I will buy an improved dairy cow breed of around Ksh 45,000(450 USD).With the sale of milk and eggs I will get enough to develop myself while I am still young and energetic to work.
What is the happiest part of your day?
When I do not have any casual jobs I do my own work in the farm.I grow maize and beans in my farm.I work for around 8 hours a day in the scorching sun.This makes me very tired at the end of the day.I enjoy my evenings at around 6:30 pm when I am done with farm work .It is usually time to take a cold shower and relax.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My education journey has been one with a lot of hardships.This is because of lack of school fees.My father did not support me while my mother feel sick and could not do any farm work whereas we depended on farming.I grew up in a polygamous setup and that's the reason my father did not support my education.I was always in and out of school since I had to do casual jobs to raise my school fees.I dropped out of primary school for one year so that I could look for money to pay school fees and register for my final examinations.I also dropped out of secondary school several times to raise money for school fees.I did jobs like looking after cattle.I once worked at a tea plantation for two years when I was halfway through my secondary studies.I came back to complete the two years remaining of my secondary in 2016.By the time I was completing my secondary school studies I was 25 years old.I should have completed at 18 years it were not for the school fees issues.My dream was joining college to study further but this has not been possible.I am now a farmer but I am glad I was at least able to gain knowledge to do and manage my own work wisely.