chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rowah's Profile
Rowah's family
Rowah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Janitor/porter (works for others)
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rowah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
37152 KES ($362 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Before I started receiving these transfers,I could not manage to provide for my family due to the unreliable salary I earn from the Government where I am employed as a casual worker. Being that I am a single mother with no financial support from my children's father, I had to live with my brother so that we could share the cost of the bills. It was very uncomfortable for both of us living in a tiny house where there was very limited privacy. After I got the first transfer, I decided to move out and rent my own house so that my brother could feel free in his house. I have also managed to set up a business on clothing which provides a decent income to take care of my needs and I don't have to solely rely on my salary from the Government which usually delays.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I recently started a business on clothing which I now run after I am done with my job as a street cleaner for an extra source of income. I am currently renting temporary premises where I sell the clothes, even though my main aim to have a permanent shop which I wish to acquire as soon as possible.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have been employed by the Government as a casual worker for a while now, but they do not pay us on time or sometimes fail to pay at all for months making life quite tough. To have a more stable source of income, I decided to set up a new business on clothes using part of the money that I recently received. I also bought two pigs from our group project that will also bring in extra income when they reproduce then used the rest of the money to clear my children's school fee balance, paid my rent and bought my children new clothes.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($194 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to open a beauty shop because this is what I have wanted to do for a long time. I have already enrolled for a beauty course to gain knowledge. I am hopeful of starting a beauty shop with the coming transfer and with the skills, I know that it will do well.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have for years dreamt of ever training for a short course specifically in beauty. Lack of finances was a major limitation towards achieving this goal. Having enrolled for the course has been a dream come true and so far, it is the biggest difference in my daily life. I can't want to finish the short course and use the skills in running a beauty shop.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to pay for a beauty course. Because of the love and passion that I have for beauty, I decided to prioritize it. I am certain that after getting skills from the short course, I will be able to confidently manage a beauty shop very well. I intend to open it with the coming transfer. Besides that, I also managed to buy a school uniform for my child and bought food that we ate as a family. I finally kept the remaining amount as savings for emergencies.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received the transfer I felt very happy. I knew that my living standards will definitely change. I decided to keep calm and start planing on meeting my goals.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I want to first go to school, I have a passion for beauty and I have always wanted to learn more on how best to do make up and serve my customers well. This will be a dream come true when I get to do this. Secondly, I want to put up a cosmetics shop possibly in Huruma, Mathare. I want to be able to advice my customers on which beauty products works best for their skin. I can also put up a small space for doing more of pedicures and manicures just to add on to the income I get. Income from this will enable me to plan more and manage my business well. Increasing more stock and meeting my daily needs. Lastly, I want to rent my own place. I currently live with my brother and at times we do not get along. To avoid this I want to have my own place where I can live with my two children comfortably.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is my family, my children. My first born son is in grade one and my daughter is a year old in day care. I worry alot when it comes to their education and upkeep since I am the sole bread winner. I worry too much, when it comes to paying school fees and day care for them. I did not have the previledge to proceed with my education after class 3. My parents unfortunately, separated and I could not go on with education, I was left under the care of my mother and she could not afford to take me to school. Later, my mother passed on and I was forced to work as a houselphelp in different homes in Eastleigh at a very early age. I would not want my children to face the same struggles I had, I want them to have a better chance in life and in education.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My dream is to have my own form of employment. To have started this cosmetic shop and in future have it in different country like Uganda. I plan to own a home, a place where I can live with my children without having to pay house rent. All this I will be able to achieve once I have a stable source of income.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day, I wake up early in the morning at around 5:00 am, I take a shower, prepare myself and my children, we take our breakfast and leave as I take them to school. After dropping them off at school I go to our Hall, Pirates Hall at Mlango kubwa do some cleaning at the library and after I am done I report to work, I work as a garbage collector with the Sonko resue team till 4:00pm. I go back home, find my children are back from school, I wash their uniforms, prepare dinner and after we have had our dinner, I take some time chatting with my friends on whatsapp and later I take my rest. In my free time, I clean my house and clothes, afterwards I relax or go out to visit my friends.