chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Isaya's Profile
Isaya's family
Isaya
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Brick making
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Isaya's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20000 KES to improve my brick business, build rental kiosk with 16000 KES, treated my child with 5000 KES, paid school fees, uniforms and clothes with 5000 KES and one sack of maize for 3000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have advanced my brick business which is now giving me high income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I invested in brick making with 6000 KES of my token payment then I spent 2000 KES on a sack of maize, 1000 KES on school uniforms and I paid for them 1000 KES school fees of the remaining token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will expand my brick making project with the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to inject more capital into my brick making business, this will involve buying more inputs like wood and paying wages for my workers.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked as a brick maker and managed to take care of my children needs up to the level they are in primary school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to enable me educate my children, my business is not that profitable so I am not always able to pay school fees,and I fear that they may have to drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am sure that I have a job to do,this is because I am sure that my children will have a proper meal in the evening.