chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 17,000 KES to buy a cow, bought seats for 15,000 KES, sand for 6,000 KES and 6 bags of cement for 5,100 KES and also sent 4,000 KES as pocket money to my son in school. The rest was spent on buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to buy a cow that gives me milk to sell and consume and also manure and I also started a business with the first transfer and this helps me to get some daily income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a table (2500), a bed (4000), a suitcase (2500) and food (900).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my house, buy chairs and expand my business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to construct a house for my son because I feel he should own one. I am also planning to improve my house by plastering the walls both from inside and outside.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud of being able to switch from a leaking grass thatched house to an iron-sheet- roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of access to proper source of income,and for this reason,there are days I cannot afford a meal nor raise school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the evening because this is the time I go to the marketplace to sell my vegetables so that I can raise money that can enable me buy clothes for my kids.