chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Reuben's Profile
Reuben's family
Reuben
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different from how it would have been if I never received the transfers in that I was able to pay for my hospital bills without much struggle or selling my dairy cow. I am a motorcycle taxi rider. This has been my source of income to meet all the basic needs of my family. I was involved in a road accident and I was admitted at the hospital. I had no money to settle the hospital bills. I also do small scale farming but the amount of money that I get by selling the produce is so small. The only option that was left was to sell my dairy cows to clear the hospital bill. I am so grateful because GiveDirectly came to my rescue on time. When I received the second transfer I felt so happy because I knew I was in a position to settle down the bill. This enabled me not to sell my assets. I am now recovering well and ready to embark on my daily activities.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly does well by giving money to the poor in the community to build better houses and to start business. I do not find anything that GiveDirectly did not do well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spend part of the money I received from GiveDirectly on settling the hospital bills. I was involved in a road accident. I was able to pay the hospital bills on time. The rest of the money I used it to buy a heifer and food for the family. Heifer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at work when I heard a message notification on my phone and on seeing the message, it was the transfer that had been eagerly waiting for and I was very happy.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
When I got the accident, I was able to pay off the medical bills. Without the transfer I would have been forced to sell a cow to foot the bills since I did not have any money and at the same time, I have not been able to work to earn some money. I have also completed a house I was building but had stalled for a long time due to financial constraints. Thank you so much GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had an accident on a motorbike while I was headed home and got badly hurt. I therefore used the transfer to pay for medical expenses where a plaster was put on my leg.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
One of my top desire is to give my children the best education that I can. I have 4 children who are currently in school. I decided to take them to the best academy where they will face stiff competition from other learners to give a competitive edge. Raising their fees is an uphill task for me. I pay 15000 shillings for each child and this translates to 60000 shillings for all of them annually. Receiving this money will mean a lot to me as it will enable me to realize my dream
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am always happy in the evening because this is the time I am home with my family. Helping my children with their homework is a job that I take with so much pride. Sharing a meal is equally fulfilling.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
One of the greatest challenges we face in this region is persistent drought. This makes it hard for us to get safe drinking water. I walk for up to 6 kilometers in search of this important commodity. After getting it, I have no other means of carrying it home other than on my back. I make 6 trips in a day to get enough that can last me the whole day. This leaves me with a lot of backaches that usually give me sleepless nights. I have thought of relocating to another area all together but it is too expensive since it involves buying land. All that there is to do is to persevere and hope that one day this challenge will be a thing of the past.