chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Joseph's Profile
Joseph's family
Joseph
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
62
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfers in that I have bought a dairy cow. I used to buy milk from my neighbors and it was so costly for me because I do not have a continuous source of income. I depend on small scale farming to earn income. The amount of money that I get through this is so small and cannot meet all the basic needs of the family including paying school fees for my children in various schools. There was no extra money to saved so that I can buy a dairy cow. I also used to do casual jobs in the village, the amount of money that I get through this is also so small. Currently I have a dairy cow and I no longer buy milk. I save the money that I could have used to buy milk for other basic household needs. I am so grateful for the support, GiveDirectly has changed our living standard and it's now better compared to when we had not received the transfers.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly does well by giving money to the poor in the community to build better houses and to buy dairy cows. I do not find anything that GiveDirectly did not do well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spend part of the money I received from GiveDirectly to buy a a dairy cow. I used to buy milk and it was so costly for me because I do not have a continuous source of income. The rest of the money I bought Clothes, mattresses and food for my family. I am so grateful for the support because GiveDirectly has changed our living standard.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($498 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at home having lunch when I heard my phone ringing notifying me of an incoming SMS. I decided to stop and check what the message was all about. I could not believe it when I saw that it was an SMS telling me that I had received the first transfer of 55000/= from GiveDirectly. I was so happy on seeing this and I rejoiced giving thanks to God for the fortune. I then prepared myself and I went to withdraw the money.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The transfer has brought a very big change in my life. I have been able to buy the cow that I had for a long time desired to have after the one that I had died. This cow is about to reproduce and when it reproduces, I will be able to get milk that I can consume and I can sell some. I will hence not be incurring any more expenses of buying milk. The money that I will get from the sales, will help me with other things such as buying food. The chickens too that I have started rearing will also be of great help to me. I will be able to get eggs that I can sell and use the money in buying things such as salt and insecticide for spraying against pests. The transfer also enabled me to buy a few clothes for myself. The clothes that I had, had become old and some had become torn out. I hence now look good. Thank you GiveDirectly for helping me, may God bless you so much.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The transfer from GiveDirectly has helped me in a big way that I had never imagined. I was able to buy a cow with part of it and a few chickens that I plan to rear. The transfer also enabled me to buy a few clothes for myself. The reason why I decided to buy a cow is that I have been buying milk for quite some time now. I had a cow before but unfortunately, it died. I have hence been lacking enough milk for consumption. I have not been in a position to buy another cow because of the lack of a large sum of money that is needed to do so. I usually depend on casual jobs to earn a living and the little money that I have been getting has only been enough to buy food and milk. I also decided to use part of the transfer in buying a few chickens because I wanted something that will enable me to get some income that I can use in taking care of this cow that I bought.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will mean financial stability in my family. Since this is the only opportunity God has given me, I will utilize it to its maximum. I am getting old and I have been struggling to make ends meet through the casual labour. I don't have any specific casual work I do because I have variety of them ranging from weeding to working in the construction site with a daily income of approximately Ksh 350. My intention therefore, is to engage in dairy farming and poultry keeping even though I am yet to calculate how much I will spend in each. Through this venture, I will sell milk and eggs and create my own source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening. This is because I spend my entire day working as a casual labourer which ranges from weeding, digging to working in a construction site until late in the evening. Nothing delights me more than being paid my dues in the evening after completing my work. This is an indication that I won't go to bed empty stomach.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The demise of my wife 2 years ago has given me sleepless nights since she left a gap in my life which no one can fill it. The biggest hardship I have faced in life therefore, is living in a solitude state since I solely live in this household. I don't have any child within the household, my last born son got married a few years ago and moved out. My future plan is to venture in a lucrative business of dairy farming and poultry keeping to keep me busy and earn some income.