GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 40,000KES for a motorbike, paid 5,000KES school fees for my child, and spent the rest on groceries.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have a source of income from the motorbike transport business.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid a loan of 8,000KES at Kenya Women, bought 40 kilograms of maize at 1,000KES and then used 500KES to pay school fee for my two sons.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to cement the floor and walls of my house, pay school fee then use the rest to expand my saloon business.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to pay for my brother and sister in law school fees I am also planning to enroll my small kids in School I am also planning to start up a business that can help put up a meal for us in the table
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was when my hairdressing business was doing fine that I could be able to put meals on the table but ever since thieves broke and stole my things I came down
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship was when I lost two of my children one through ailing and another one through miscarriage it was a tough time to come into acceptance with
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest moment of the day is since now I don't have any job but when I get called for any casual work to do and I know all be able to put food on the table for my children and they are of good health keeps me going