<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nathan's Profile
Nathan's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid school fees for my two daughter 40000 KES, bought shaver machines for 7000 KES
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I have a goal of starting a kiosk shop which I never had before.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I can now feed myself comfortably. I also feel happy after paying school fees debts for my children.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on paying school fees for my children.I also ploughed my land and bought food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am relieved from paying school fees for my form four candidate son.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on paying school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.I also want to buy a goat.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use it to pay school fees for my two kids. I also plan to buy sheep and dairy cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The greatest achievement in life is getting married and raising my kids.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is when I realised that my wife was infected with HIV and refused to take drugs. It was too late and she had infected me too. It was difficult to accept my status then.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I sit together with my kids and have a family meal.