<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Millicent's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid my daughter's 40,000 KES school fees. I spent the remaining amount on latrine construction, textbooks and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I was able to settle my son's school fees and now he is in his final year of secondary study. Besides, I currently have a better access to food.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a mattress,a blanker,a basin and maize for my consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment to plaster my house.I also want to buy windows and doors.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy a mattress, blanket, and a mosquito net. I also plan to renovate my house and build a toilet. I will use the remaining balance to pay school fees for my kids and start a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The greatest achievement that I am proud of in my life is that I have managed to raise my kids despite going through challenges.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in my life is getting money to pay school fees for my kids. It has been hard being that I don't have a reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I manage to get food for my kids.