chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Moses's Profile
Moses's family
Moses
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
53
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Moses's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 28000 KES of my first lumpsum payment on 3 cows and used the remaining 22000 KES for paying dowry and visiting my in-laws.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now customary married to my wife and if it were not transfers from GD I would have died a bachelor.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a matress @ 4,400KES, and a sack of dry maize for consumption @2,600 KES. I also paid 800KES school fees for my child in primary school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet and build an iron roofed house for my family. I also plan to buy cattle use them for paying dowry for my wife.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer on constructing a house. I also plan to use the transfer to buy furniture, bed and beddings. I also plan to spend the transfer to pay bride price required by my in-laws.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to buy five goats. I managed to do this from the savings that I made from the sale of charcoal.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when I couldn't offer food for my family. It happened when I got very poor harvest from my small farms. I also didn't have any other source of income. My family became victims hunger.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up alive and am able to perform my work. This is because I know that I would get food for my family.