GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Faith's Profile
Faith's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Faith's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy materials to expand my house (40000) and bought clothes, food and household utensils (9700).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to have a small house and even the chairs i bought with my token could not fit in but with the first lump-sum i expanded the siting room and added another room now i have a spacious three roomed house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to purchase chairs. I had only two plastics chairs in my house after my house got burned..
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to fence my home with a barbed wire. I'm also planning to enlarge my house because it is small in size.
access_time over 4 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend the transfer on buying house furniture since we lost everything when our house burnt down,lastly we will use part of it to off set some loan we took when building our current house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having been able to build our current house, when my house burnt down life was very hard.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face currently is on paying some loan we took to build our house and on making ends meet on very small income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during morning hours when I clean my house and have it look neat even though I got no furniture, it would look more better.