GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Musa's Profile
Musa's family
Musa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my second transfer,
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
During the post election violence of 2007, we were among the people who were adversely affected. We were forced to migrate from Naivasha town where we left behind and lost all our properties including land and therefore receiving transfers from Give Directly was a blessing to us from God, that we managed to acquire our own land in Homabay County and this will soon mark the end of our desperate situation of homelessness, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
i used 6000 to pay school fees for my child,i bought maize with 3000 and remaining 1000 i bought my work tools like glue and school shoes for my child
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
i want to build my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build my house because I am currently living in my mother's kitchen. I also plan to start rearing livestock in order to increase my level of income and be able to meet the financial needs of my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have a wife and children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack money to build a house and I have a chest condition that does not allow me to engage in hard work.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when engaging in shoe making because its the job that earns me daily income.