GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Christine's Profile
Christine's family
Christine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($474 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the whole of the transfer to buy land as l am planing to put up a house on it, being that l separated with my spouse some time back and came back to my biological home and l do not have a place to stay in comfortably.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($487 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on 20 iron sheets, poles, 2 steel windows and 2 steel doors which I am planning to use to build a new house that is more spacious. I used the balance to start a second hand clothes business from which I can sustain my life.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am happy my daily life has improved such that I own a second hand clothes business from which I earn a daily income that helps me achieve my goals..
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my transfer majorly as capital for starting second hand clothes business. I also paid school fees and bought school uniforms for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy iron sheets and timber then build a house with my upcoming transfer since I am homeless.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
The first thing I plan to do with part of the transfer is to pay school levies and buy school uniforms for my three children in primary school. And finally, I intend to use the remaining amount to buy home clothes for my children and myself.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm very proud of is having managed to keep my children in school until now.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is paying school levies for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I come back home from my casual work having food to be prepared.