<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought one cow at 15,000 KES, 15 iron sheets at 8,550 KES, wall poles at 6,000 KES, roofing poles and nails at 5,000 KES, paid 5,000 KES labor charge, paid10,000 KES school fee for my son,
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My now leading a better life because my children are eating and dressing well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 3000 KES to settle some loan, bought a mattress, bought some nice clothes for the family, and also used the remaining amount to celebrate Christmas.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to invest the entire transfer in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a piece of land,improve my house and pay my children's school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having worked hard to built my current house,I used to live in a small house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing currently is raising my children and ensuring they stay in school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day normally is in the morning when I create time to cultivate my small piece of land.