GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Robert's Profile
Robert's family
Street trading - food (works for others)
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I had no stable source of income and only depended on casual construction jobs for income. After receiving the transfer, I ventured into self-employment, starting a business on second-hand clothes then later into the motorcycle taxi business that I currently have. The business proved stable enough and gave me the courage to get married because of confident in providing for the family. I have put behind me the fears of going hungry and being kicked out of my rental place of residence for delayed rent payments because I now have a business that can certainly take care of all of these. I also have dreams and ambitions to better my future and that of my family, something that I never had before, I as I only lived a day at a time.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I am a really huge fan of dreadlocks which has made me want to take a hairdressing course, specializing only on dreadlock maintenance. My goal is to start saving so that I can enrol in a beauty college and take up the course. When I finally qualify, I will work at a salon from mid-morning to late afternoon when there is not much work on the motorcycle taxi business that I currently do. This is a means of earning an extra income to fend for my growing family.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Part of my last transfer was stolen in my house where I had kept it after withdrawal with plans of purchasing a motorcycle for a taxi business as I had planned. This interfered with my plans and I had to take a loan and abandon my previous business so that I could add the capital to the money I had left in order to buy the motorcycle.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($364 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life has really changed as compared to how it was initially. Currently, I can afford to have electronics in my household. Before this was left for the rich and employed. I run my own business and can afford to pay my rent and even buy food consistently. This is a miracle because this was never the case, I used to struggle to put food on my table. I am glad Give Directly came to my rescue may God richly reward you.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Apart from the clothes business, I have been yearning to also start a shoes selling business to run parallel with the cloth business. In the near future when I receive my next transfers, I will see into it that I start a shoe business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I run a second- hand clothes business that I had started a few months before I started receiving my transfers. When I received my recent transfers I opted to add more stock to see my business grow and even serve more customers. This way, my earnings will definitely increase.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to have my own motorcycle company, where I can buy the bikes from abroad, and resell them here in Kenya.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now have hope for my future. I finally see myself see myself achieving my dreams of owning my own motorbike and running my own transportation business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to pay for a course in motorbike riding. I have been hawking second hand clothes in Mathare, alongside being engaged in casual jobs. I have always wanted to have my own motorbike so I can use it for transportation business to carry passengers to their destinations for some pay. I have admired this business for a while now. I never knew I would ever realize this dream, as owning a motorbike only, seemed like something I would never achieve. I am happy and very grateful that I will be able to acquire a riding licence as I also make arrangements to purchase a motorbike with my coming transfers. Thank you Give Directly.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was in my house watching a movie when a message came into my phone, on checking the the message, I was both shocked, surprised and excited all at the same time. I knew there and then that I would use the transfers to acquire a motorbike riding licence, just as I had initially planned. I took some few days with the money intact in my phone before withdrawing after some few days, to pay for the course.
access_time over 5 years ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I prioritize my plans the way I did because, I have always wish start my own business which will be motorists hence I will save my first transfer then secondly I will combine my next transfers and savings to pay a motorbike in installments, thirdly I will shift from where I live because now I will want to live in a comfortable place.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is drug abuse because I feel that our community is way behind due to threats and fear, as we all know those who are in hard drugs they are not usually in their right mind, hence they start stealing from others in order to continue doing drugs, sometimes you will find them doing wrong things like rapping where promote young mothers in society.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to be a big artists, where I will give back to the community just like give directly, reason is, am now in a tough situation, but they Give directly came in by giving us grant, that will enable me to start my own business hence I would like to do the same.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
During my free time, I usually woke up at 6:00am I go for jogging for fitness, then come back and take bath, then go to game training afterwards create time for studio where i will do vocally training and be cause am an artist, when am done, I will go back home and watch movies.