GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ann's Profile
Ann's family
Ann
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (self-employed)
faceAge:
31
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ann's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different in that I no longer have debts as I cleared all my debts and I also paid my rent. My son is also well settled in school with no school fees arrears. I also invested in my business and what I make from the business now is enough to sustain my household.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to grow my business into a wholesale venture where I will also supply different products to other smaller businesses.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to pay school fees for my son who was joining high school for the first time. I sell children's sweets in my village in Mlango Kubwa, Mathare. I used my transfers to pay school fees for my son because he was joining form one and I had no savings elsewhere, or any means to pay for his fees. I had been worried for a long time about where I would get school fees for my son. My husband used to work at one of the Nakumatt stores, before the franchise collapsed and the stores had to be closed down. He has been out of employment since then and has been depending on construction jobs, which can be rare to come by, and the pay meager. I was very happy to be included in the program as I knew that finally my son would join high school.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I want to ensure my business grows and generate more revenue so that from the profits, I can save to help in buying a plot to put up my home.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have always been living in debts since my husband lost his job because we did not have a stable source of income. After receiving this transfer, I was able to pay all my debts and I no longer hide from my friends who kept on asking for their money whenever we met. I am at peace and can once again tell stories freely since I do not owe anyone anything.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my whole transfer on paying fees balance for my son who was almost missing his examinations because of the same, paid a debt I had from a friend and to boost my shoe business by adding more stock. Profit from the business will help me in sustaining my family needs.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was very happy because I was going to settle fees balance in time for my son to sit for his end of year examinations.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I prioritized investing on my exsiting business, i sell sweets and biscuits outside schools for children as they leave school. It is the only source of income i have since my husband is currently not working,so i will give it the top priority. Secondly i would pay School fees for my children i have a huge amount i have not paid Then i can invest in agriculture. I can hire a farm,plant maize and from it use the money to feed my family
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is is the welfare of my family especially my children and their education. I want them to have all that they need. They are good performers in school and i would want them to attain the highest form of education, to the level they can.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would want to improve my life and my living standards, if i could have a businesa that is good n big tha can sustain my daily needs and meet alot my childrens needs, build or buy a house i would be so happy
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I wake up prepare my children to go to school, i make sure the house is in order prepare lunch for my chI'llldren for when they come back home from school. I then leave for work, i go looking for houses that i can clean for. After i go back home n take care of my family and perfom my daily chores. In my free time i take my children to city park after church or visit friends, i barely have free time to spend.