chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Stephen's Profile
Stephen's family
Stephen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Stephen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 19,500 KES, poles at 10,600 KES, steel door at 7,000 KES, nails at 4,000 KES and paid for labour at 3,500 KES to construct my house. I also bought a table at 2,500 KES and two goats at 5,000 KES. (added some of his own money)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a very small one-roomed house that was too squeezed and uncomfortable to stay in, but now I have constructed a bigger house that I can keep my belongings safely and is enough for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on purchase of house construction materials (7 iron sheets) and a lamp for 1,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on construction of a new house (we already bought some iron sheets using Token)
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger house than the one I am currently staying in as this one is very small, I will also buy two bulls and a dairy cow and the remaining amount I will use to start a small business of shopkeeping.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I been able to plant crops on my farm and got a good harvest that I sold and received good cash from it.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is in terms of getting a stable job so that I can support my family as the jobs I get are temporary and they cannot sustain me and my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when go out in the morning to do casual jobs and when I am lucky to find one, I am happy knowing that I will get paid in the evening so that I can buy food for my family.