chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Vickline's Profile
Vickline's family
Vickline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Vickline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my first transfer to expand my house (30900), bought a cow (12000), a bag of maize (3000) and food (5000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a shop that i opened with my token payment and it is giving me daily income, i expanded my house and now my children have a room of their own. the cow i bought will give me young ones and milk for sale so my future is secure thanks to GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on groceries business start-up and purchase of dry maize
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on improvement of our main house, paying secondary school fee and buying small livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to expand my shop business so as to be able to raise my level of income and pay my children's school fee, expand my house because it's too small for my family and buy more fishing materials because fishing is our main source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest that today I have chairs in my house that visitors can sit on.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of sufficient funds to meet the basic needs of my family because I do not have a reliable source.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the morning when I wake up. I always thank God every morning for allowing my family to be a live.