GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mathew's Profile
Mathew's family
Casual labour
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53075 KES ($530 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is much better at the moment unlike before receiving the transfers. At the moment I own three dairy cows unlike before when I used to own none. All of them are about to calf. They are the best breeds and hence I expect over 10 liters of milk a day. Dairy farming has really kept me busy unlike before when I was just Idling around. The hope of getting income out of dairy farming really makes me happy since I will be able to able to meet my family's needs more easily and effectively.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does well by giving people unconditional cash transfers. This freedom has enabled people to do projects that they would not have done if the cash had been restricted to particular projects. GiveDirectly on the other does not do well in the evaluation through field visits to the past recipients. It should first evaluate the projects after the first transfers so that those who utilize them well are given the 2nd transfers. This will ensure more effectiveness of the cash transfers.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent KES 25000 on buying a dairy cow and chicken worth KES 5000. I also bought 2 bags of maize worth KES 5500 and clothed my family with KES 4000. I bought wire mesh worth KES 5000 for building a poultry unit and remaining KES 9000 went towards paying school fees for my son in secondary school.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($547 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that now I have a good poultry house and my chicken are well protected and I can now do other farming activities as they cannot feed on my plants anymore. Again, I am getting money for use from motorcycle taxi which I started to operate after repairing it.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received the confirmation message which showed I had receive to my phone I dashed to where my wife was and shared the good news with her and we celebrate about it by jumping and dancing.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my transfer to purchase a wire mesh for poultry house construction. I spent some cash to buy a cow and part of it to repair my motorcycle which had broke down . The other portion I spent to buy food consumption.
access_time over 5 years ago
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Over the last 5 years, I have been faced with crop failure as a result of a crop disease. As a result, feeding my family has been one of the biggest challenges that I have to face on a daily basis. I am therefore forced to rely on odd jobs so that I can provide for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the evening when I have worked and have been paid by my employer. I am happy because this is the time that I am sure that my family is going to get basic needs.
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that my life is going to change for the better. Initially, I have not been able to receive such an amount of money. I have been having plans to rear cattle but due to financial contraints I have not been able to meet my goals. This money will therefore be used in projects that will improve my living standards