GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Joshua's Profile
Joshua's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Joshua's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also started a second hand clothes business and bought a cow.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a house now and I no longer get rained on.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent it on building a house after my previous house was extremely damaged.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to start clothes business, and I also want to buy bulls for ploughing.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to take my daughter who got pregnant after doing her kenya certificate of primary education to school because she passed very well . Secondly l would wish to open up business to generate income to sustain my famil
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l have struggled to build my own house though the house fell down but I am trying to put it up. Secondly l have also struggled and managed to cows security incase of any emergency.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when having dinner with my family.