chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kanze's Profile
Kanze's family
Kanze
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Forestry (e.g rubber tapping)
faceAge:
50
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that my children are learning without their education being interrupted due to lack of school fees. Moreover, I am able to earn income from the motorbike taxi everyday which helps me to put food on the table without struggling much unlike before. Furthermore, I am now owning one dairy cow and very soon it will give birth and I will have enough milk supply for my family.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, Givedirectly did a good thing for coming up with this aid. It has enabled us to transform our lives in a positive way. I also wish it will continue to support the extremely poor households in the community.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my second transfer on purchase a motorbike. We jointly contributed $280 each with my co-wife to the motorbike, It was to help us with transport and also to hire it out for a taxi business so that it may earn us a living. I am now able to earn 1.5 dollars per day from the motorbike taxi. The remaining portion of transfer I spend to clear the fee balance for my 2 children who are in secondary school.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($502 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was preparing lunch for my children when I heard my phone ringing continuously. I became curious and asked one of my sons to check who it could be. Upon checking he confirmed that it was an Mpesa message from GiveDirectly. I was overwhelmed with joy becasue I knew my life will change positively.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now a proud owner of goats. I opted in buying them because for the following reasons: one, they reproduce twice a year, their food is readily available, the climate in my region is semi-arid which is favorable to them and finally, their offsprings mature faster as compared to the other domestic animals. Therefore I am optimistic that very soon they will reproduce and multiply hence making me wealthier. Also, they are currently the living assets that I will depend on just in case of any financial difficulties such as paying school fees, buying foodstuffs, and many more. In the near future, I will no longer strain in meeting my family's needs as I used to.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying some livestock which includes some goats. I have been having the desire to keep them for a long but i could not afford it. Also, I bought some goats and living assets that I can lean just in case of any financial difficulties. I also cleared school fees for my children who are both in secondary and primary schools. With the remaing amount of money, I bought some decent clothes and sufficient foodstuffs for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
"I am a small business woman who sells tobacco in our village. I have been doing this work for 2 years now but the income is never enough for all our needs of food and education for my children. Receiving this money means boosting my current stock. I am planning to spend 50,000 shillings to purchase 50 kilograms. This can take me at least 2 months to sell and will generate good income for my family of 4 members. I anticipate to make at least 500 shillings profit from each kilo. Approximately, my family spends 300 shillings in a day on their basic needs so I can save the rest for their fees when school resumes. Also, I am planning to spend the remaining amount to clear fee balances for my 2 sons who are in secondary school."
What is the happiest part of your day?
"Morning is my happiest part of the day. It is at this time when the customer turn up is so high. This is because they normally purchase it during this time before they leave for work. Unlike in the evening when business is so slow and sales are too low."
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
"My biggest hardship is the lack of enough finances to support my son's education. As much the tobacco business gives me income it is only enough for food. I have another son who has a good job. But unfortunately, he does not support me. This has has affected learning for my children because they keep being sent away from school."