chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kazungu's Profile
Kazungu's family
Kazungu
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Forestry (e.g rubber tapping)
faceAge:
63
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it was since I was able to own livestock an investment that I have been longing for. I was temporary casual labour doing any casual activity that could earn me a living. With my family of 8 members I was struggling to meet their basic needs like food. I was left with no coin for other need especially clothing , at the moment my children are having enough clothes and food courtesy of my transfer.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, Givedirectly has done well for provided me cash that helped to transform our life for the better.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent $ 280 of my transfer to purchase 7 goats to boost my livestock rearing which I had started with my first transfer. My plan was is to continue rearing them so that I have something to depend on whenever I face any financial needs in the future. The remaining part of the transfer I purchased clothing for every member of my family and I bought sufficient food stock for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 2 PM when I heard a loud vibration from my phone. I decided to check what the message was all about, then I realized it was an Mpesa message from GiveDirectly. I felt happy and grateful at the same time. There are no words to express how happy I was at that moment. I was so sure I will achieve a lot from the support.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that am now a proud owner of goats. I  settled in keeping them because they have numerous benefits. One is that they reproduce faster compared to any other domestic animal. Their pasture is also readily available because they can stay in any kind of climate. They also require little supervision's this meaning apart from rearing them, I can also do some other stuff. Nowadays I can take loans or items on credit with ease compared to when I didn't have any assets in my compound. I am planning to sell the offspring once they mature so that I can be able to pay school fees for my children. I am positive that my living standard will also improve because of these goats.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying some livestock such as fourteen goats at a total of KES 25000. I have been longing to keep them for a long period of time but due to the financial difficulties, I could not afford to buy them. I also bought some decent clothes for my family and I to replace the old ones that been wearing for all those years. With the remaining amount of money, I am using it in buying enough foodstuffs that will last for long.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
"My ambition has been to construct a house but due to financial challenges this dream has never arisen. I am planning to spend 70,000 shillings to construct a spacious house which can accommodate my family of 9 members and visitors and my grandchildren when they come to visit me. This will enable me to live a comfortable and decent life. In addition, I am planning to spend the remaining amount to clear my hospital bill. I have been suffering from stroke which has affected both my left limb.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning. It is during this time when I wake up and thank God for giving me another day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Sickness is the biggest challenge. I used to work as a casual labourer in town. In a day I used to earn 500 shillings. This amount was enough to sustain all the family needs such as food. Recently, I suffered a stroke which hinderers me from performing any work, making it difficult to meet my needs.