GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Casual labor
Kenya Large Transfer
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Susan's next check-in.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($131 USD)
access_time 17 days ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received my transfer, I distinctly recall being at home, enjoying a moment of relaxation, when the familiar buzz of my phone captured my attention. Upon checking, I discovered that GiveDirectly had deposited money into my Mpesa account. The immense joy I experienced at that moment transcends mere words, as it marked the realization that I could now bring my long-held dreams to fruition. The provided support infused an abundance of happiness into my life, propelling me to promptly embark on plans to utilize the transfer for pursuing my aspirations, equipped with the necessary funds now at hand.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The chance to accumulate a substantial stock of food has deeply transformed my daily life. Formerly, financial limitations prevented me from buying food in larger quantities, leading to a precarious lifestyle. The attainment of this milestone brings me immense happiness, guaranteeing a consistent food supply. The profound impact of this extraordinary opportunity has left me overflowing with gratitude, as it has brought about a life-altering change that knows no bounds.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Receiving the transfer came at the right time of need and was the most significant blessing I encountered, primarily due to the pressing need for food to support my one child as I am a single parent. The longstanding dream of ensuring an ample food supply within our household has been hindered by financial constraints, given that I rely solely on available casual jobs, which barely meet our basic necessities. However, upon receiving the transfer, I promptly used $100 to purchase foodstuffs, then used $60 for clothes and seats, and finally, I dedicated $30 to buying household items. The impact of this milestone on my life has been profound, leaving me immensely thankful for the remarkable improvements it has brought about.
access_time 2 months ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
The plan I have for the transfers is to purchase food, utensils, and other household products such as sugar, cooking fat, and salt. I intend to use the first transfers on this. Additionally, I will purchase a few chickens which I will rare. This will provide me with eggs that I'll sell to my neighbors and be able to make some extra cash. For the second transfer,r I intend to build a new house which will cost me about $400. This is important for me because the house I currently occupy is in a bad state and whenever it rains it gets destroyed. I don't feel safe in this house since I fear it might fall every time it rains. With the new house, I will live in a good iron sheet house. For the third transfer, I intend to invest in farming. I'm planning to lease a 2-hectare land in which I'll plant maize. This will not only provide me with food but will also offer me a chance to make more money for sustenance.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Over the last 6 months, I drew my joy and happiness from the harvest that people got in the irrigation farms in Sandai. This created jobs for us and I managed to purchase food and other household goods which delighted me so much.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Currently, I'm facing a lot of challenges in my life. However, one of the greatest challenges that is making my life quite difficult is the lack of money and work to get enough money to meet all my needs. I solely depend on casual labor which includes, collecting firewood and fetching water for my neighbors. This kind of work gives me about $3 a week which is not enough for all the needs including food. This makes my life very challenging and saddening especially when I have to borrow food and assistance from my neighbours and relatives.