<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Irene's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the money to complete my house that l had left halfway, so l bought building-stones at 24000 kshs, 11 bags of cement at 8250 kshs, sand 5700 kshs, l also use 13500 kshs to pay labour.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life change so much because my house has steady for so many without any progress.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I plan to pay fees for my child in college.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I had started builbing an iron roofed house, I plan to buy materials: building bricks, iron sheet and cement, and finish building my house that I had started building.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to assist my spouse to pay his college fee, expand my soda and tailoring business so that I have a reliable source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have extended my business premise that somebody has rented and this helps me pay school fee for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I am the sole bread winner for my family being that my spouse is currently in school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my children are back from school and so I have them to talk to.