<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Judith's Profile
Judith's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Judith's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 28 iron sheets for 18,700 KES, poles for 6,700 KES, nails for 1,000 KES and paid 4,000 KES as labour charges to construct my house. I also bought a heifer for 15,000 KES and a bag of maize for 3,000 KES. The rest was spent on buying food in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was previously living in a very small house that could not comfortably accommodate me and my family, but now am living in a much bigger house and my children have a place to comfortably sleep in and keep their belongings.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3800 KES on a mattress, 2000 KES on my child's school fees and 3500 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on building a house extension, paying school fees buying chairs and a cow.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house because its small, buy household furniture, and pay my daughter's school fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest that I have managed to take care of my children after my spouse's demise.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is having to live with HIV&AIDS.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the morning when my family wake up.