chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Bahati's Profile
Bahati's family
Bahati
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Forestry (e.g rubber tapping)
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($490 USD)
access_time 17 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because, through the transfers, I managed to purchase some livestock which includes, a dairy cow and goats. I have been aspiring to own them for so many years but I could not afford becasue of my low income. I am optimistic that I will benefit a lot through them and this will empower me to send all my children to school without straining like before. In addition to that, I now sleep in some nice beddings, and I am so comfortable. At least I will no longer complain about the backaches.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly did everything so perfectly well in my region. First, there was no discrimination of tribe, religion, and many more. Everyone was enrolled provided that he or she was a resident of that particular village. Also, the money was unconditional and non-refundable and this was the best part of it.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my second transfer on buying a dairy cow and chickens at KES 20500. I have been yearning to own them for a long but I could not afford it since they were very costly. Also, I bought some beddings which include a bed and a new mattress. This was to replace the old beddings that we have been using for all those years. I then cleared some hospital bills for my children who have been unwell for quite some time. The remaining amount of money, I bought sufficient foodstuffs for my family and some other household items.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($517 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was very around 6 in the morning when I was checking my phone as usual. I then realized that I had received an Mpesa message from GiveDirectly. I felt so happy since I had never received such a huge amount of money which is non-refundable.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Having a dairy cow in my homestead that I am currently rearing brings the biggest difference in my daily life. Previously, I used to buy milk from my neigh its which was costly and most of the time I could not afford it. This is because I only depended on casual jobs in the village which was only enough for my family daily needs. It was not possible to have an extra coin in that I would make buy a cow. I am now glad because the has started producing lots of milk which is for my family's consumption and sell the surplus milk at the market and get the money to meet other extra basic needs for my family. I really thank God for bringing the organisation to my village for it has completely transformed my life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying a dairy cow and three goats and chicken which cost KES 29000. I later bought some beddings such as a bed and a mattress to replace the traditional bed that I have been using for all those years. I then bought a bicycle which is now helping me in fetching water from the dam. I also bought a water tank which will be helping me in collecting and storing rainwater. The remaining amount of money, I am using it in buying enough foodstuffs for my family that would take us to the next harvesting season.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My desire has been to start livestock keeping since I wish to have a long term investment. I am planning to purchase 2 indigenous dairy cows $ 800 and 4 goats $ 100.This will mean a good future for my family because I will be able to sell them when they multiply and educate my two children who are still in nursery school. I am planning to spend the extra amount to repair my house which is leaking during the rainy season.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the afternoon. It is at this time when I relax after doing my morning chores and spend time with my youngsters.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship in my life is the lack of good source of income. I am a housewife who depends on my husband who is also jobless. This has hindered me to cater even for my family basic needs.