GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Cyprian's Profile
Cyprian's family
Brick making
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Cyprian's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used the transfer to add stock in my shoe business (25000 KES) and a bull cow (20000 KES) and the 5000 KES on household shopping.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that my income has increased from the shoe business which is improving my living standards. My life is changing since I started getting transfers.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,000KES on increasing stock for my fish selling business. My wife has been sick and therefore, I spent 6,000KES on medical expenses for her.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy atleast 2 oxen for ploughing my land, and also boost the stoke for my fish business.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on expanding my business of brick making by buying tools like shovels and a hammer, I will also use part of the transfer on building a house that is bigger than the one I have now and because my wife is sick, I will use part of the transfer on buying medicine that she needs as she suffered a stroke leaving her almost paralysed.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that through my business of brick making, I was able to buy a cow and a ploughing machine that I own.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that next year my girl child will be joining secondary school and my first born girl also passed exams and she is expecting to join college but all this I don't see myself fulfilling as all the cash that I had I have been channelling to the treatment of their mom and am left with nothing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
That happiest part of my day is when I am doing harvesting of my crops during the harvest time in the morning. This makes me happy as I have food to provide for my family.