chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lavin's Profile
Lavin's family
Lavin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
21
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lavin's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent 40,000 KES on paying bride price and spent 7,000 KES on paying school fees. The rest was spent on other daily HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since my bride price has been paid am quite relieved that this has brought peace between our families and now we can focus on other things.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 5000, school shopping ksh 1000, 1 sack of maize ksh 2500 and used the balance on a few house hold goods.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on building a spacious big house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house in my own compound because I am of age and I'm required by tradition to have my home. I am also planning to build rental houses where we can earn from rent. If there is any amount left I'll use it on school fee for my child.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that my son is in a primary boarding school. I believe that he will have a better life in future by getting well educated.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of sufficient finances to feed and educate my children because my spouse's income is not enough to meet all our basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is at lunch time when my children come back home from school and when I receive visitors. Being around people makes me very happy.I to