chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Alfayo's Profile
Alfayo's family
Alfayo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Alfayo's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying poles 16900 KES, barbed wire 10200 KES, nails 560, 3 bags of cement 2250 KES , ballast 4500 KES, sand 2500 KES, wood 2000 KES, bricks 7000 KES, labor 4000 KES and used balance on daily meals.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that i am now in a good spacious compound of my own .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on dry grains for 5,000 KES and a mattress for 5,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on fencing my compound and starting a tree nursery.If there is a balance I will buy additional fishing nets
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use my transfer to fence my compound with barbed wire so that I can be able to plant trees without interference from herders. I also plan to complete plastering my house so that it looks clean and beautiful. I will use the remaining amount to purchase fishing materials so I can increase my level of income as a fisherman.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have worked hard and built my house. I now have a place to rest when I come from work.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of sufficient finances to educate my children in a private school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up and I am able to go to work to provide for my family's financial needs.