GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Onyango's Profile
Onyango's family
Onyango
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
51
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Onyango's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 30000 kshs to start a business of motorcycle spare-parts, l also paid school fees of 10000 kshs to my child in secondary school, l bought 1 sack of maize at 3500 kshs, l also spent 4500 kshs to dig pit-latrine, the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really changed because my business is doing very good and l am getting my daily income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy a battery for lighting (7000), a stove (3000) and food (1000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to invest my upcoming lump-sum payment in a motorcycle spares business and build a new house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to open up a business to generate income to support my family. Secondly l would wish to build a pit latrine for my family. l would also like to dig a borehole for my family. Finally l to educate my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l have struggled to educate my brother's children after the death of their parents. Secondly l have managed to feed my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after doing casual work and earning some money to buy food for my family.