GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Remjius's Profile
Remjius's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Remjius's next check-in.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token on a bag of maize (3500), clothes (1000), paid primary fees (220) and bought food (5000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to pay my wife's dowry, plaster my house and buy an ox.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying two bulls and a ploughing machine so that I can plough my farm easily, I will buy one dairy cow that I will keep for milk, I will spend part of the transfer on building a house for my wife and the remaining amount I will spend on buying furniture for my house which will include chairs, a table and a bed.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been able to plant crops on my farm which enabled me to get a good harvest during the previous planting season.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that currently I don't have food in my house as we had consumed all that we had harvested and this makes us to go a day without a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning and plough it after which I go out to look after my cattle. This makes me happy as I am able to take care of the little property that I own.