GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the money to renovate my house, so l bought sand at 14000 kshs, l bought 6 bags of cement at 6120 kshs, l also paid 5000 kshs for the labour, the remaining balance l spend to buy 2 cow bulls for farming.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was staying in a very poor condition house but now in l am stay in a well plastered house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000KES for school fees for my two children in secondary school. I also spent 3,000KES on buying utensils.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to sink and construct a pit latrine in my home, and repace the roof on my house with new ironsheet because it is leaking. I also hope to pay school fees for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use the transfer to pay school fee for my two sons who are in secondary schools. I also plan to buy a bull for ploughing and improve my dwelling by cementing the floor and walls.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to provide for the needs of my family through farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing in life is lack of finances to educate my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when my family wake up in good health.