GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Uwimpuhwe's Profile
Uwimpuhwe's family
Subsistence farming
Rwanda Large Transfer
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Uwimpuhwe's next check-in.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
329680 RWF ($301 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I have a piece of land that is near my home on which I grow crops as a living. I received the first transfer on a Tuesday morning and I could not believe my eyes. I attended all the GD meetings but never would I hvae imagined I would be in possession of such a big amount of money. I was so thrilled but waited until I finished my activities to call a MoMo agent home for the withdrawal. I bought a goat and started the kitchen construction activities.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My life changed for the better since I received my first GD transfer. I was to build an appropriate kitchen where I can now store the kitchen utensils rather than sleeping with them. I always wanted to do that but had no means of doing it. I thank GD for their thougt towards me.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My priority was building an appropriate kitchen. I bought iron sheets, construction wood, nails all worth 150 $, I bought a goat for 60 $, sheep worth 55 $, I paid a 55 $ debt and bought some clothes for my children for 17 $. I was in need of a kitchen and livestock.
access_time over 1 year ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I am planning to buy a pig for 100$ which will replace the one i sold to buy a small land , i will also renovate my house by building a kitchen because i currently cook in the same room in which i sleep in and the balance i will buy some house materials that i need , food and clothes for me and my son Fabrice abs i will invest in my small business of selling potatoes. In the second istallment I am planning to buy a cow which will cost me 360 $ and the balance i will try to find another land to buy for myself. Receiving this money is a great opportunity as it will help me live properly and will help me generate some income in my business.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I was able to buy myself a small land for my own and this achievement has brought happiness in my life. I was dreaming of having this land for a year and i was always working hard to raise money to buy a land for my own and by the end of the year i sold my pig and added to the small money i raised and bought that land which I plan to start cultivating in the next season in April.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The main challenge I am facing is not having my own livestock to give me fertiliser to use in my land , I am currently herding for others to be able to get organic fertiliser to use and I currently have a small land which i cultivate and it doesn't produce enough for us to live with which requires me to work for others in order to survive.