chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Nancy's Profile
Nancy's family
Nancy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Nancy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 19,000 KES to buy a cow; bought 15 iron sheets at 10,500 KES, poles at 4,000 KES and paid for labour at 5,000 KES to enlarge my house. I also bought a cupboard at 8,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I managed to enlarge my house and therefore I have enough space to keep our belongings. The house used to be to squeezed and uncomfortable to move about in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought two goats. Purchased a big bag for my clothes. I also invested the remaining amount in stone mining.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because it is small in size. I'm also planning to buy a cow with the remaining amount which I'll use in the near future.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to renovate my house by adding some more extra rooms inorder to make it spacious. I'm also planning to expand my catering business since it's my main source of income. Lastly,I'm planning to buy some cows that will keep me busy as I take care of them.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm proudest of being able to maintain my marriage.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest difficulty we have faced in life is lack of a reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the morning because this is the time I get to work to fend for my family.