chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rosline's Profile
Rosline's family
Rosline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rosline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 25,000 KES to pay school fees (secondary school) for my son, I bought 10 iron sheets at 7,000 KES, a bag of maize at 3,000 KES. I also bought a bed at 3,000 KES, mattress at 1,500 KES and shoes for my son at 2,000 KES. I spent the rest on daily food expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now at peace having been able to pay school fees for my son in form four and now am hoping that he will perform well because he is not staying at home with me. I am also happy that I will enlarge my house which is small.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees for my child, 1,500 KES for debt, and spent the rest on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I hope to pay school fees for my child. I also plan to build an iron roofed house for myself because am widowed and no one can build a house for me.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying food that we eat as a family, I will pay school fees for my child who is in secondary school, my house is also very small hence I plan to build a bigger house and I will use the remaining amount to buy a cow so that I can keep for milk and I will name it GiveDirect.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I am struggling to see my children go to school regardless of how hard it is using the little money I get from teaching.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting money is not easy and am facing hunger which forces me to at times go a day without a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and I am healthy, I give thanks to God because He has enabled me to see another day.