GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Edward's Profile
Edward's family
Edward
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Edward's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the entire transfer on buying 2 oxen and a plough.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I hope to have an easier time during planting because I cnow have my own oxen and plough to prepare my piece of land.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l did not have any furniture in my house so l spend 6000 kshs to buy furniture, l also use 200kshs to pay school fees for my child and the rest of the money l use for buying food stuff.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build kitchen and l also have a child in collage am planning clear his collage fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a toilet and a external kitchen. Some of the money we will use to buy oxen to use in ploughing our farm and buy some furniture.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having taught my daughter. She managed to finish secondary school and the money that paid her school fees came from selling maize I had planted.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is around midday. This is when I usually eat lunch and I really love eating.